Quick answer
Our overall pick is the charmast power bank with built-in cables for its convenience and compact size. The Anker models are best for fast laptop charging and high capacity, while the Jackery is suited for powering multiple devices off-grid.
Finding the best power bank means matching its features to how you’ll use it. Whether you need a slim charger for your phone, a high-capacity pack for a laptop, or a portable power station for camping, the right specs make all the difference. We compared manufacturer listings and specifications to highlight models that stand out for specific uses.
Our picks at a glance
Pros
- Four built-in, reinforced cables for major phone types
- Compact and lightweight design
- Can charge up to six devices simultaneously
- Three different ways to recharge the power bank itself
Cons
- 10,000mAh capacity is suitable for phones but not for multiple laptop charges
- The listing does not mention fast charging capabilities
Pros
- High 87W output with fast charging for laptops and phones
- Built-in, durable USB-C cable
- 20,000mAh capacity is airline-approved
- Can be recharged quickly
Cons
- Heavier than smaller capacity models at 15.2 ounces
- Only one built-in cable (others are standard ports)
Pros
- High 25,000mAh capacity with 165W total output
- Three 100W USB-C ports for laptop charging
- Includes two built-in USB-C cables
- Airline carry-on friendly
Cons
- Larger and heavier than standard phone power banks
- The listing does not specify its exact weight or dimensions
Pros
- Provides standard AC outlets for larger devices
- Multiple port types including USB-C PD and a car port
- Lightweight for its capacity with a durable LiFePO4 battery
- Can be charged via solar (with compatible panel)
Cons
- Much larger and heavier than a typical power bank
- Solar panel is not included
- Plastic enclosure material
How we chose
We compared manufacturer listings and specifications on Amazon as of October 2026. We did not test, use, or review any products hands-on. Our selections are based on comparing the listed features, capacities, and outputs to identify the best power bank for different scenarios.
Our primary criteria were battery capacity, number and type of ports, special features like built-in cables, and overall power output for charging larger devices.
Best Power Banks: our picks in detail
1. Best overall for everyday convenience: charmast Portable Charger with 4 Cables
The charmast power bank is a compact, 10,000mAh option designed for simplicity. Its key feature is the inclusion of four reinforced, built-in cables for USB-C, iPhone, and Micro-USB devices, eliminating the need to carry separate cords. It has three additional ports (one USB-C and two USB-A) for charging up to six devices at once.
The listing notes it is slim and lightweight at 9.2 ounces, making it easy to carry. It can be recharged via its built-in USB-C cable, built-in USB-A cable, or a Micro-USB input.
Best for: Anyone who wants a simple, all-in-one charging solution without loose cables.
Pros
- Four built-in, reinforced cables for major phone types
- Compact and lightweight design
- Can charge up to six devices simultaneously
- Three different ways to recharge the power bank itself
Cons
- 10,000mAh capacity is suitable for phones but not for multiple laptop charges
- The listing does not mention fast charging capabilities
2. Best for fast phone and laptop charging: Anker 20,000mAh Power Bank with Cable
This Anker power bank offers a 20,000mAh capacity and a total output of 87W, with a built-in USB-C cable. The listing states it can charge a 14-inch MacBook Pro to 50% in under 40 minutes and an iPhone 15 Pro to 58% in 30 minutes using the built-in cable.
It features three ports total (the built-in cable plus one USB-C and one USB-A port) and is approved for airline travel. The power bank itself can be fully recharged in 1.5 hours with a 65W charger, according to the listing.
Best for: Users who need to quickly charge a laptop or phone and want a travel-friendly, high-capacity battery.
Pros
- High 87W output with fast charging for laptops and phones
- Built-in, durable USB-C cable
- 20,000mAh capacity is airline-approved
- Can be recharged quickly
Cons
- Heavier than smaller capacity models at 15.2 ounces
- Only one built-in cable (others are standard ports)
3. Best for charging multiple laptops: Anker 25,000mAh Laptop Power Bank
Designed for power users, this Anker power bank has a 25,000mAh capacity and a 165W total output. It features three USB-C ports that each support 100W charging, ideal for powering multiple laptops simultaneously. It also includes two built-in USB-C cables—one retractable and one that acts as a carrying strap—plus a USB-A port.
The listing notes it complies with 100Wh airline restrictions for carry-on luggage. It can charge up to four devices at once using its combination of built-in cables and ports.
Best for: Remote workers or travelers who need to charge multiple high-power devices like laptops at the same time.
Pros
- High 25,000mAh capacity with 165W total output
- Three 100W USB-C ports for laptop charging
- Includes two built-in USB-C cables
- Airline carry-on friendly
Cons
- Larger and heavier than standard phone power banks
- The listing does not specify its exact weight or dimensions
4. Best for off-grid and multi-device power: Jackery Explorer 300 Power Station
The Jackery Explorer 300 is a portable power station with a 292Wh battery capacity and 300W rated output (600W peak). It provides versatile power via two AC outlets, a 100W USB-C PD port, two USB-A ports, and a 120W car port, allowing you to run or charge up to six devices.
The listing states it uses LiFePO4 battery chemistry for longevity and is lightweight at 7.1 pounds with an integrated handle. It can be recharged via AC, car, or compatible solar panels (sold separately).
Best for: Camping, emergency backup, or any situation requiring AC power away from an outlet.
Pros
- Provides standard AC outlets for larger devices
- Multiple port types including USB-C PD and a car port
- Lightweight for its capacity with a durable LiFePO4 battery
- Can be charged via solar (with compatible panel)
Cons
- Much larger and heavier than a typical power bank
- Solar panel is not included
- Plastic enclosure material
Power bank picks at a glance
| Model | Battery Capacity | Key Feature | Notable Output |
|---|---|---|---|
| charmast with Cables | 10,000mAh | 4 built-in cables | Not listed |
| Anker 20,000mAh | 20,000mAh | Built-in USB-C cable | 87W total |
| Anker 25,000mAh | 25,000mAh | Three 100W USB-C ports | 165W total |
| Jackery Explorer 300 | 292Wh | AC outlets | 300W rated |
How to choose the best power bank
Selecting the best power bank depends on what devices you need to charge and where you’ll use it. The first consideration is capacity, measured in milliamp-hours (mAh) for smaller packs or watt-hours (Wh) for larger power stations. A higher capacity means more charges for your phone or tablet, but also a larger, heavier unit. For charging laptops or multiple devices, look for a high wattage output. You can learn more about balancing these factors in our guide on how to choose a power bank.
Port selection is crucial. Most modern devices use USB-C, so ensure your power bank has USB-C ports, preferably with Power Delivery (PD) for fast charging. Some models include built-in cables for convenience, which is great for travel. If you need to power anything with a standard AC plug, like a small appliance or CPAP machine, you’ll need a portable power station with AC outlets, like the Jackery model here.
What to look for
- Capacity: Match the mAh or Wh to how many device charges you need between wall outlets.
- Output Power: Check the wattage (W) to ensure it can charge laptops or enable fast charging for phones.
- Ports & Cables: Look for the right mix of USB-C, USB-A, and built-in cables for your gadgets.
- Size & Weight: Consider if you need a pocket-sized charger or a larger station for camping or backup power.
Finally, if you plan to travel by air, check the power bank’s capacity. Regulations typically allow power banks under 100Wh in carry-on luggage without airline approval, and many larger models like the 25,000mAh Anker are designed to meet this limit. Always check the latest guidelines from the FAA and TSA before you fly. For a deeper dive into modern charging standards, see our explainer on USB-C chargers and power banks.
FAQ
What does mAh mean on a power bank?
mAh stands for milliamp-hours and indicates the battery’s capacity. A higher mAh number means the power bank can store more energy, which typically translates to more full charges for your phone or other devices. However, the actual number of charges also depends on the efficiency of the power bank and the battery capacity of the device you’re charging.
Can I take a power bank on a plane?
Yes, you can usually take power banks in your carry-on luggage, but there are restrictions on capacity. Power banks with a capacity of 100 watt-hours (Wh) or less are generally allowed without airline approval. Many power banks list their capacity in mAh; you can often find the Wh rating on the product or in its specifications. Always check current regulations with the FAA and your airline before traveling.
What’s the difference between a power bank and a power station?
A power bank is typically a smaller, portable battery designed to charge USB-powered devices like phones, tablets, and sometimes laptops via USB ports. A portable power station is larger, has a higher capacity, and includes AC outlets (like a wall socket) to power or charge larger devices such as small appliances, lights, or medical equipment. Power stations are better suited for camping, emergencies, or off-grid use.
How do I know if a power bank can charge my laptop?
Check the power bank’s output wattage and the power requirements of your laptop. Most modern laptops that charge via USB-C require at least 30W, with many needing 45W, 65W, or more for optimal charging speed. Look for a power bank that lists a USB-C Power Delivery (PD) output at or above your laptop’s required wattage. The product listing should specify compatibility with laptop models.
References
- Amazon product listings and manufacturer specifications (accessed October 2026)
- Gadget Sleuth: Power Banks
- Gadget Sleuth: How to Choose a Power Bank: Capacity and Key Features
- Gadget Sleuth: USB-C Chargers, Power Banks and Wireless Chargers Explained
- Federal Aviation Administration (FAA): PackSafe
- Transportation Security Administration (TSA): What Can I Bring?
