Quick answer

Our overall pick is the TWELSEAVAN 200W Portable Solar Panel, which has the highest listed maximum power and suits larger power-station setups. The Durecopow PS35K suits people who want a built-in battery, the BigBlue 28W suits light, compact daytime charging, and the Goal Zero Nomad 20 suits buyers who want a US-engineered 20W panel.

If you want to keep a phone charged outdoors, a solar panel charger for phone is worth comparing carefully before you buy, because listings mix flat panels that need sunlight with solar power banks that store charge. We compared four current Amazon listings and focused on what each manufacturer states about output, weight and battery. You can browse more options in our phone cases category.

Our picks at a glance

1
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Highest listed maximum power at 200 W
  • Type-C port listed at PD60W maximum
  • Includes MC4 cable and 3 DC adapters
  • 24-month warranty stated in the listing

Cons

  • At 15.7 lbs, the heaviest of the four picks
  • The listing does not mention a built-in battery
  • Listing centers on power-station compatibility rather than phone-only use
2
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Built-in 20000 mAh battery
  • Built-in Type C, Lightning and Micro USB cables
  • Flashlight with steady, SOS and strobe modes
  • CE, FCC and RoHS certifications listed

Cons

  • The listing does not state a solar input wattage
  • Weight is described as lightweight but no figure is listed
  • ABS plastic body per the listing
3
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Two USB-C ports plus one USB-A port
  • Folds to 11 x 6 x 1.4 inches and weighs 1.5 lbs
  • Panel rated IP44 waterproof in the listing
  • Includes a 50cm USB-C cable and carabiners

Cons

  • No built-in battery; the listing says it must be used in direct sunlight while connected
  • The USB junction box is not waterproof, per the listing
  • Listing advises against use inside a window or windscreen
4
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Built-in 8mm charging cable and USB port
  • 180° adjustable kickstand and backpack hook
  • 1 year manufacturer warranty with US-based support
  • Listed as USA engineered

Cons

  • The listing does not state a USB output rating
  • The listing does not mention a built-in battery
  • Plastic material listed

How we chose

We compared manufacturer listings and specifications on Amazon as of November 2026. We did not test any of these products hands-on; each pick is based only on the features and specs the listings provide.

Our criteria were listed maximum power, phone-relevant ports and their stated ratings, whether a built-in battery is listed, weight and folded size, water and durability notes as the manufacturer describes them, and what is included. Where a listing was missing a detail or contradicted its own title, we left that detail out.

Best Solar Panel Charger for Phone: our picks in detail

1. Best overall for high-output setups: TWELSEAVAN 200W Portable Solar Panel

The TWELSEAVAN 200W Portable Solar Panel has the highest maximum power of the four picks, with a listed rating of 200 watts and a stated efficiency of 24%. The listing describes a foldable design with four adjustable kickstands and a magnetic handle. For phones, the listed ports are a Type-C port rated PD60W maximum, a QC3.0 port rated 18W maximum, and a USB port rated 5V/3A.

The listing also includes a 9.8ft MC4 connector cable and 3 DC adapters, and states compatibility with portable power stations such as Jackery, Ecoflow, Bluetti, Flashfish and Anker. It weighs 15.7 lbs and folds to 23 by 22 inches. The bullets describe a polyester canvas back and an ETFE laminated case, and they state a 24-month warranty.

Best for: Best for people who want the highest listed output and already use a power station or a larger solar setup.

Pros

  • Highest listed maximum power at 200 W
  • Type-C port listed at PD60W maximum
  • Includes MC4 cable and 3 DC adapters
  • 24-month warranty stated in the listing

Cons

  • At 15.7 lbs, the heaviest of the four picks
  • The listing does not mention a built-in battery
  • Listing centers on power-station compatibility rather than phone-only use
See the TWELSEAVAN 200W Portable Solar Panel on Amazon

2. Best for a built-in battery: Durecopow PS35K Solar Power Bank 20,000mAh

The Durecopow PS35K is a solar power bank rather than a flat panel. The listing gives a battery capacity of 20000 milliamp-hours, three ports, and built-in cables for Type C, Lightning and Micro USB, plus a USB-A input cable. It also includes a flashlight with steady, SOS and strobe modes, a carabiner and a compass.

The listing says the unit can be recharged by solar or by an outlet, and it lists CE, FCC and RoHS certifications. It describes an ABS body with silicone corners and a silicone port cover. Compatible devices named in the listing include several Galaxy, Pixel and iPhone models, and the warranty type is listed as limited.

Best for: Best for people who want a battery that stores solar charge for phones and other USB devices.

Pros

  • Built-in 20000 mAh battery
  • Built-in Type C, Lightning and Micro USB cables
  • Flashlight with steady, SOS and strobe modes
  • CE, FCC and RoHS certifications listed

Cons

  • The listing does not state a solar input wattage
  • Weight is described as lightweight but no figure is listed
  • ABS plastic body per the listing
See the Durecopow PS35K Solar Power Bank 20,000mAh on Amazon

3. Best for lightweight, compact travel: BigBlue 28W Solar Panel Charger

The BigBlue 28W High-Efficiency Solar Panel Charger has two USB-C ports and one USB-A port, each listed at 5V/3A, with a combined listed output of 5V/4.8A. The listing gives a 28 watt rating and describes a front surface with no metal lines and N-type solar cells. It folds to 11 by 6 by 1.4 inches and weighs 1.5 lbs.

The package includes a 50cm USB-C to USB-C cable, carabiners and a user manual. The listing rates the panel IP44 waterproof, notes that the USB junction box is not waterproof, and states that the panel can’t store electricity, so it must be used in direct sunlight while connected to devices. It also says the LED glows solid blue when charging properly.

Best for: Best for people who want a light, compact panel for hikes or travel with direct USB-C and USB-A connections.

Pros

  • Two USB-C ports plus one USB-A port
  • Folds to 11 x 6 x 1.4 inches and weighs 1.5 lbs
  • Panel rated IP44 waterproof in the listing
  • Includes a 50cm USB-C cable and carabiners

Cons

  • No built-in battery; the listing says it must be used in direct sunlight while connected
  • The USB junction box is not waterproof, per the listing
  • Listing advises against use inside a window or windscreen
See the BigBlue 28W Solar Panel Charger on Amazon

4. Best for a US-engineered 20W panel: Goal Zero Nomad 20 Solar Panel

The Goal Zero Nomad 20 is a foldable 20W monocrystalline panel with a built-in 8mm charging cable and a USB port. The listing gives a maximum power of 20 watts and a maximum voltage of 22 volts within an 18 to 22V range. It folds to 11.5 by 7.4 by 1.25 inches, and the bullets give a weight of 2.25 lbs.

Setup options include a 180° adjustable kickstand and a hook for attaching the panel to a backpack while hiking. The listing says the product was developed by a US-based team with solar energy experience. It includes a 1 year manufacturer warranty with US-based support, and the material is listed as plastic.

Best for: Best for people who want a 20W panel from a brand that states US engineering and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • Built-in 8mm charging cable and USB port
  • 180° adjustable kickstand and backpack hook
  • 1 year manufacturer warranty with US-based support
  • Listed as USA engineered

Cons

  • The listing does not state a USB output rating
  • The listing does not mention a built-in battery
  • Plastic material listed
See the Goal Zero Nomad 20 Solar Panel on Amazon

Solar panel chargers at a glance

Pick Maximum power Weight (listed) USB outputs Built-in battery
TWELSEAVAN 200W Portable Solar Panel 200 W 15.7 lbs Type-C PD60W max, QC3.0 18W max, USB 5V/3A Not listed
Durecopow PS35K Solar Power Bank Not listed Not listed Type-C in/out, 2 USB outputs, 2.4 A output current 20000 mAh
BigBlue 28W Solar Panel Charger 28 W 1.5 lbs 2 USB-C plus 1 USB-A, 5V/3A each Not listed
Goal Zero Nomad 20 Solar Panel 20 W 2.25 lbs (bullets) USB port, rating not listed Not listed

How to choose a solar panel charger for phone

Start by deciding whether you want a flat panel that charges devices only while it’s in sunlight, or a solar power bank with a built-in battery. The four picks here show both designs. A panel without a battery depends on sunlight during use, and the BigBlue listing says it must be used in direct sunlight while connected to devices. A battery-based unit can store charge for later, as the Durecopow listing describes with its 20000 milliamp-hour capacity.

Next, check the ports against your phone. Look for connector types and listed output ratings rather than headline wattage. USB-C is common on phones, and the USB Implementers Forum publishes the standard, so reading port labels in a listing helps you spot the cable you need. Our overall pick lists a Type-C port rated PD60W maximum and a QC3.0 port, while some others list only a rated output current. Where a listing gives no output rating, treat that as a gap to confirm with the manufacturer.

Weight and folded size matter if you carry the charger on a hike or in a bag, so compare the listed figures directly. Water and durability claims vary. The BigBlue listing separates the panel’s IP44 rating from its USB junction box, which is not waterproof, so read those notes closely.

Mounting is the last factor. Kickstands and hooks help you aim the panel at the sun. For more on stands and mounts, see our guide to phone stands, car mounts, cases and camera accessories, or browse phone accessories for related options.

Follow the manufacturer’s manual for charging, battery care and safe placement, especially with lithium-ion power banks. If you plan to fly, check the TSA guidance on what you can bring before you pack.

What to look for

  • Whether the charger is a panel only or a solar power bank with a listed battery capacity
  • Listed output ports and ratings, with connector types that match your phone
  • Listed maximum power, plus any notes on output that changes with sunlight
  • Weight and folded size if you will carry it
  • Water-resistance ratings and any parts the listing says are not waterproof
  • Included cables, adapters and the stated manufacturer warranty

FAQ

How does a solar panel charger for phone perform without direct sun?

The BigBlue listing says its panel must be used in direct sunlight while connected to devices, and it notes that actual output fluctuates with solar irradiance, orientation, the connected device and ambient temperature. The other listings do not give cloudy-weather performance, so plan for backup power if you depend on sunlight.

Are solar power banks safe to carry?

Follow the manufacturer’s manual for charging, storage and handling. The Durecopow listing describes a lithium-ion battery, so check current TSA guidance before carrying one on a flight.

Do I need an adapter to connect these chargers to my phone?

It depends on your phone’s connector. The TWELSEAVAN listing includes MC4 cable and DC adapters for power stations, the Durecopow includes built-in Type C, Lightning and Micro USB cables, and the Goal Zero includes a built-in 8mm charging cable and USB port. Check each listing’s included parts and your phone’s port before you buy.

References

  1. Amazon product listings and manufacturer specifications (accessed November 2026)
  2. USB Implementers Forum
  3. TSA: What Can I Bring?
Mason Caldwell

About Mason Caldwell

Mason researches and writes buying guides and how-to articles on consumer tech how-to & troubleshooting. Picks are based on product specifications, brand reputation and patterns in owner feedback, and are updated as new models come out.